God Of The Ravens!

And it shall be, that thou shalt drink of the brook; and I have commanded the ravens to feed thee there. I Kings 17:4

And the ravens brought him bread and flesh in the morning, and bread and flesh in the evening; and he drank of the brook. I Kings 17:6

He giveth to the beast his food, and to the young ravens which cry. Psalm 147:9

Consider the ravens: for they neither sow nor reap; which neither have storehouse nor barn; and God feedeth them: how much more are ye better than the fowls? Luke 12:24

I serve the ‘God of the ravens!’ The God that ‘gives’ and ‘supplies’ what every creature needs to thrive and survive. I serve the God will use anything and anyone to supply needs. Men have taught dogs to ‘fetch,’ but God ‘commands’ every creature and object for the well-being of His creation.

In Luke 12, Christ teaches us not to allow our needs, whatever they may be, distract or hinder us from following God. Many who take this command to heart will testify of many seemingly lucrative opportunities that they’ve had to let slide in order to dedicatedly follow the path of righteousness. This letting go of lucrative opportunities often hinders many from responding and serving God.

But Jesus didn’t just teach us to put God first, He followed up by informing us God ‘does’ cater to and provide for those needs for which your heart is being tempted/drawn away from Him.

I have over a decade long testimony that bears witness to the truth of Jesus’ teaching, but today I choose to pick and testify about just one of the most recent of God’s provisions to me. I get drunk on God’s goodness, it’s so hard not to want to share it! So here goes.

I live on the most meagre of incomes imaginable, yet I lack for nothing. I do not scheme, cheat, deceive, etc.. Rather, I am obedient to the LORD’s principles and I go to Him when I lack and as the Good Shepherd, He does the rest. I love good things, such as the stock carried by J C Penney, but I will not and cannot afford to pay the crazy prizes asked for them. So, I tend to wait and combine their biggest percentage sale with the $10 off $10 purchase and $10 off $25 purchase coupons. In this way, I have often stocked my wardrobe with $100 items for just $1 or less out of pocket. Ah, hard to believe? No! Those who have shopped with me at J C Penney, know this is the way I shop and it is true.

So, recently, there were some things I needed from J C Penney and I had this J C Penney $30 bonus cash coupon which I unintentionally missed the deadline for by four days. You can imagine how I berated myself for not using the benefit the LORD provided for me through them. At the same time, I was kind of upset with myself, because the reason I missed it was because I was tied up with ministry work.

So, I stood before the LORD and asked and begged Him to consider the reason I missed this deadline and to grant me favor that I be allowed to use it. I then went in to Customer Service and explained my situation to them. Without hesitation, the manager granted my request and told the CSRs to honor my coupon after shopping!

I was so excited!!! I ended up getting what I wanted (it was such a good bargain, I got more for less) as well as a very nice housewarming gift for one of my church families who’ll be getting a new place soon!

Here’s a picture of what God sent the ‘J C Penney Ravens’ to bring me:

whatJCPenneyravenbroughtme

As an non-salaried minister and single mom for many years, the LORD has filled my life with such wonderful testimonies. I’ve drunk water from so many brooks, have been a raven and have been fed by so many ravens (I will post more testimonies), so that like King David, I can truly say,

Trust in the Lord, and do good; so shalt thou dwell in the land, and verily thou shalt be fed. Psalm 37:3

Delight thyself also in the Lord: and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart. Psalm 37:4

Commit thy way unto the Lord; trust also in him; and he shall bring it to pass. Psalm 37:5

I have been young, and now am old; yet have I not seen the righteous forsaken, nor his seed begging bread. Psalm 37:25

Leave a comment